Location: Minh Mang Tomb is located in the area of Cam Ke Mountain, Huong Tho Commune, Huong Tra Town, Thua Thien Hue Province, near Bang Lang T-junction, where Ta Trach and Huu Trach Streams form the Parfume River. It is 12km from Minh Mang Tomb to Hue city centre.
Characteristics: Minh Mang Tomb is a comprehensive architecture of about 40 large and small works. Minh Mang's tomb appears to be imposing, imposing but very harmony between architecture and nature.
In April 1840, King Minh Mang renamed Cam Ke mountain to Hieu Son and called the tomb was Hieu Lang. The tomb was begun to be built in September 1840.
By January 1841, Minh Mang fell ill and died, the King Thieu Tri was crowned and continued to build the tomb following the old design. In August 1841, Minh Mang's corpse was buried in Buu Thanh. By 1843, the construction of the tombs was completed.
Minh Mang Tomb is a comprehensive architecture of about 40 large and small works including palaces, castles, temples ...which are arranged on a vertical axis from Dai Hong Gate (outermost) to the foot of La Thanh's wall, behind the king's tomb.
The works are distributed on three major axis parallel to each other, which the Divine Path is the centre. The whole of the tomb is divided into:
Dai Hong Gate is the main entrance to the tomb. The gate has 3 aisles with 24 high&low roofs with beautiful decoration. The main gate is only opens once to bring the coffin of the king into the tomb, to go in through the gate, we have to follow two extra ports Ta Hong gate and Huu Hong Gate.
Bi Đình, behind Dai Hong Gate is a large yard, there are two rows of statues, of elephants and horses. The pagoda is located on Phung Than Son Hill, inside, the stele "Thanh Duc Than Cong" by King Thieu Tri wrote about biography and merits of his father.
Area of worship (the place of worship of the king): go to court ceremony divided into four parts. The beginning of the area of worship area is Hieu Duc Gate; Sung An temple is located in the center of the altar of King and Queen Ta Thien Nhan. Hoang Trach Gate is the end of the altar area with fragrant flowers.
Minh Lau Tower: Go through three bridges : Trung Dao (in the iddle) , Ta Phu (on the left), Huu Bat (on the right) crossing the Truong Minh Lake to Minh Lau tower (light tower) which is built on a hill called Tam Dai Son.
The building has a square form with two floors and eight roofs. The two sides of behind the Minh Lau are two pillars on two hills of Binh Son and Thanh Son. Behind the Minh Lau are two flower gardens that symmetrically cross Divine Path.
Buu Thanh (citadel around the grave): Tan Nguyet lake in the shape of a small moon embracing the circle Buu Thanh in the middle. Crossing Thong Minh Chinh Truc bridge through Tan Nguyet lake, there are 33 stone steps connecting to the resting place of the king located in the center of the hill called Khai Trach Son which is bounded by circle Buu Thanh.
Minh Mang Tomb with Bi Dinh, Hieu Duc Gate, Sung An temple and Minh Lau tower and about 60 crosses carved with poems on it, these are a selective poetry museum of Vietnamese early 19th-century…
In addition to the majestic feature, Minh Mang's tomb also has the charm of nature which has been renovated to set the scene for the architecture.
Biography of King Minh Mang (Nguyen Phuc Dam):
Minh Mang – his real name is Nguyen Phuc Dam, born on 23rd January Ky Dau (1789), the second child of Gia Long. In January of the year of the Dragon (1820), the Prince Dam was crown with the name King Minh Mang.
Minh Mang was intelligent, studious, dynamic and assertive. Minh Mang set out: the officials who have been promoted, appointed ... must go to the capital meet King, so that the King asked the job, test the ability and give them advices...
Being a Confucian, Minh Mang was very interested in studying, electing, selecting talents. In 1821, he established Quoc Tu Giam, created position Te Tuu and Tu Nghiep, reopening the Hoi and Dinh examination; previously, 6 years an exam, later, shortened 3 years.
Minh Mang was also very keen on martial arts, especially in the marines, so he told people to learn how to build a European ship and wished that the Vietnamese could build Western-style ships and navigate the ocean.
Minh Mạng completed the system of dikes in the North, set up agricultural extension agencies, reclaimed coastal areas, set up two districts of Kim Son and Tien Hai.
On foreign affairs, Minh Mang paid special attention to the Thanh dynasty, but suspected Western countries, thus inhibiting the development of the country.
Minh Mang had a lot of wives, so there are 78 princes and 64 princesses, a total of 142 children.
In December 1840, Minh Mang became ill seriously and died, reigned for 20 years, at the age of 50 years.
Location : Hương Thọ, Hương Trà, Thừa Thiên Huế